2009 CFDA Nominees

12:30 am Contributed by JW

The CFDA Awards are to fashion what the Oscars are to Hollywood - a really big deal. This year, for the third year running, Marc Jacobs is nominated for Womenswear Designer of the Year alongside Rodarte's Laura and Kate Mulleavy and Narciso Rodriguez. Jacobs is also nominated for the second year running for the Accessories Designer of the Year prize, which last year went to Tory Burch. For 2009, he is pitted against Vera Wang and Proenza Schouler, who famously co-won the Womenswear award with Oscar de la Renta in 2007. Calvin Klein's Italo Zuchelli, Michael Bastian and Band of Outsiders designer Scott Steinberg will all vie for the Menswear Designer of the Year award. Swarovski's trio of emerging talent awards feature a triptych of future names-to-know. Winner of the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Award Alexander Wang, Jason Wu and Thakoon Panichgul - who have all been worn by First Lady Michelle Obama - will go head-to-head for the womenswear gong. Patrick Ervell, Robert Geller and Tim Hamilton are all in the running for the emerging talent menswear award, while Albertus Q. Swanepoel of Albertus Quartus - who was named runner up in 2008's CFDA/Vogue award - is up against maker of to-die-for shoes Alejandro Ingelmo and jeweller Justin Giunta of Subversive Jewellery for the Swarovski Award for Accessories. Source:Vogue

  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Technorati
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis
  • MySpace
  • LinkedIn
  • Live
  • Google
  • Reddit
  • Sphinn
  • Propeller
  • Slashdot
  • Netvibes


Post a Comment

I love to read your comments but please keep them on topic. If you would like to request a reciprocal link, or have a press enquiry you should email to amanfashion@gmail[dot]com